Partial dedit tutorial

Discussion about Blood II and its addons.
zZaRDoZz
The Great Betrayer
The Great Betrayer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mar 19th, 2006, 05:11

Partial dedit tutorial

Post by zZaRDoZz » Apr 22nd, 2008, 20:31

Okay, Kurt, Joe, Mic and others will find the following to be old news or at least useless. Still some of you might find it to be a curiosity.

http://www.zeliepa.com/dna/blood2/

User avatar
Sir Seizhak
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 348
Joined: Nov 14th, 2006, 22:33
Location: Castilla La-Mancha. Spain.
Contact:

Post by Sir Seizhak » Apr 22nd, 2008, 21:23

Good and cool documents! Thanks zZaRDoZz
Cabal's Return Add-On. Wait for it.

BloodHispano. The best Spanish Blood website!

kurt
.PSD
Posts: 1410
Joined: Nov 12th, 2007, 04:21
Location: a dimension not only of sight and sound but of mind
Contact:

Post by kurt » Apr 22nd, 2008, 22:41

I've never seen any Blood 2 tutorials before, and it looks like he gave up on it because there's not too much there.

But I did find the Blood 2 Rain tutorial interesting. I don't think too many people have ever witnessed this amazing weather condition in Blood 2 before. There's a good reason that it was never included in the retail game. It looks ridiculous!


Image

Red seems to be the only color you can choose even though I selected blue in the editor. But I guess if you want it to rain blood then it might be a nice feature.

Hopefully I'll eventually fix Blood 2's weather conditions, and eventually create plenty of easy and helpful tutorials as well.

__________________________________

Image

User avatar
Daedolon
Supervillain outcast
Posts: 3342
Joined: Mar 28th, 2004, 14:06
Contact:

Post by Daedolon » Apr 22nd, 2008, 23:13

kurt wrote:Image
Holy crap! I hope you put that into some end-game level as is, it looks awesome.
Image

User avatar
NAto
Well Done
Posts: 1958
Joined: Jun 3rd, 2005, 16:32

Post by NAto » Apr 23rd, 2008, 09:37

I was thinking the same thing! Raining Blood \m/

User avatar
Drakan
Well Done
Posts: 1792
Joined: Aug 17th, 2005, 14:26
Location: Earth - Prison Planet

Post by Drakan » Apr 23rd, 2008, 14:31

Aw fuck yeah. Put it in some of the more dark dimensioned levels. That'd rock.
Life is a privilege...Death is a promise...

User avatar
Dimebog
Troll of the Opera
Posts: 2165
Joined: Aug 6th, 2006, 15:48
Contact:

Post by Dimebog » Apr 23rd, 2008, 15:00

\o/

P.S. Nice find, zardoz.
Raven wrote:Nevermore.

User avatar
Shadowman
The Posty Baby
Posts: 1463
Joined: Sep 3rd, 2007, 04:14
Location: MapEdit
Contact:

Post by Shadowman » Apr 24th, 2008, 00:57

Drakan wrote:Aw fuck yeah. Put it in some of the more dark dimensioned levels. That'd rock.
*cough* Max Payne *cough*

The last bit.


CHAWSOME find, though. Too bad I'm no good at working with B2.
Image
Achievement Unlocked: <3*
(Since returned to Daedalus.)
Achievement Unlocked: Kickass Chaos Avatar by Ella.

Achievement Unlocked: Best Insult Ever

zZaRDoZz
The Great Betrayer
The Great Betrayer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mar 19th, 2006, 05:11

Post by zZaRDoZz » Apr 24th, 2008, 08:04

Yet another quicky pseudo-tutorial. This one appears a bit more technical and deals with scripting.

There's no new information on this one topic wise. Many of you folks have probably seen this as it has been around since 2001. It does mention audio modules.

http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~jparise/projects/pylt/#callbacks

kurt
.PSD
Posts: 1410
Joined: Nov 12th, 2007, 04:21
Location: a dimension not only of sight and sound but of mind
Contact:

Post by kurt » Apr 24th, 2008, 09:16

zZaRDoZz wrote:Yet another quicky pseudo-tutorial. This one appears a bit more technical and deals with scripting.
Another interesting find, Zardoz, that's certainly different. They embeded a python language interpreter inside an old version of the lithtech engine. While that's certainly unique, it unfortunately has little to do with Blood 2.

I don't know where you're coming up with this stuff. But if you happen to find the lithtech engine source code anywhere let me know.

__________________________________

Image

User avatar
Dimebog
Troll of the Opera
Posts: 2165
Joined: Aug 6th, 2006, 15:48
Contact:

Post by Dimebog » Apr 24th, 2008, 10:55

Hey, I can handle phyton script.
Raven wrote:Nevermore.

zZaRDoZz
The Great Betrayer
The Great Betrayer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mar 19th, 2006, 05:11

Post by zZaRDoZz » Apr 24th, 2008, 15:37

Dimebog:
Hey, I can handle phyton script.
...Is it useful though? I mean does it accomplish anything that you can't do with regular triggering commands in the dedit map editor?

***


Anyone out there hell bent on using the mouse wheel for weap selection in b2?

From blues news:
Buzzkill, master of the mousing arts has learned the command line to enable mouse wheel doohickey support in LithTech engine games (Blood2 and Shogo). Here's the command, as found on Buzzkill's Mouse-Wheel World, which Buzz says is best to use as a line in your autoexec.cfg so that it will be active in every game:

rangebind "##mouse" "wheel" 10 120 "NextWeapon" -120 -10 "PrevWeapon"
I can't imagine why they didn't package that with the 2.1 patch.

***

So it turns out that the lithtec 1.0 engine code is
modular after all. Not that I'm suggesting any course of action mind you.

more blues news:
In terms of visual flair, the LithTech engine is up their with id's box of tricks and pertains similar bells and whistles, such as, colored and dynamic lighting, real-time shadows, light mapping, terrain mapping and translucency/transparency for water/glass effects. Scorching, but for those without 3D cards- be prepared to face the bloody prospect of a software version. The LithTech Engine isn't limited to one API though, and one of its main strengths stems from its modular nature, allowing Monolith to take out an entire render and plug in a new one. Thus a native Glide (3Dfx) version for Voodoo2, Voodoo Graphics and Voodoo banshee owners has been coupled with a D3D version that ekes out the best from any D3D compliant 3D card, such as the nVidia TNT. It's not as fast as the Glide version but it's somewhat prettier and those of you with a fully loaded PC (a Voodoo2 SLI and TNT combo) can pick and choose between what suits you best. If you want our opinion (and if you don't we'll give it to you anyway) then use the TNT for single player at 1280x1024- the visuals are superb. For multiplayer, the best thing to do is to trade off some of the looks and then opt for sheer speed with the Voodoo2's.

kurt
.PSD
Posts: 1410
Joined: Nov 12th, 2007, 04:21
Location: a dimension not only of sight and sound but of mind
Contact:

Post by kurt » Apr 24th, 2008, 17:33

zZaRDoZz wrote:So it turns out that the lithtec 1.0 engine code is modular after all. Not that I'm suggesting any course of action mind you.
Yes, it is modular. But without the source code it isn't.


__________________________________

Image

zZaRDoZz
The Great Betrayer
The Great Betrayer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mar 19th, 2006, 05:11

Post by zZaRDoZz » Apr 27th, 2008, 01:12

The more in depth the search the more useless the finds. It's still fun though.

hmmm.... turns out that lithtech (1.5? 2.0?) was used as some sort of software training program.

http://www.cs.wisc.edu/graphics/Courses ... html#Task1

It even has a resource page.

http://www.cs.wisc.edu/graphics/Courses ... t-1.0.html

Don't be late for class!

*EDIT* ...and don't miss the exiting stage 3 (I don't know what happened to stage 2)

http://www.cs.wisc.edu/graphics/Courses ... /tips.html

well shit why not link to the whole thing? and btw this might be for lithtech 2.5 or above as it uses directx 8.0

http://www.google.com/custom?cx=0176744 ... le-coop-np
Last edited by zZaRDoZz on Apr 28th, 2008, 04:14, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Damien_Azreal
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 196
Joined: Apr 25th, 2008, 18:12
Location: Kansas

Post by Damien_Azreal » Apr 27th, 2008, 01:42

NAto wrote:I was thinking the same thing! Raining Blood \m/
Great..... now I have to listen to Slayer.

Post Reply