The Nightmare Levels

Discussion about Blood II and its addons.
zZaRDoZz
The Great Betrayer
The Great Betrayer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mar 19th, 2006, 05:11

Post by zZaRDoZz » May 22nd, 2006, 09:20

I can't agree about the nightmare levels.
Those maps were way too small (all b2 maps are),
too brightly lit, and the enemies are too slow moving.

I liked the cultists. The gremlins were nice but they should
have been melee attack only though. In the end
the nightmare levels lacked a polished feel, just like b2 did.

:bang:

Has anyone tried Joe V's E1M1 blood1 test map for b2 yet?
I'd love to hear some feedback on it.

http://home.comcast.net/~jvolante6/B2E1M1.zip

Choronzon
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 173
Joined: Apr 30th, 2006, 20:57
Location: Scotland

Post by Choronzon » May 30th, 2006, 09:39

psuedozardozz wrote:I can't agree about the nightmare levels.
Those maps were way too small (all b2 maps are),
too brightly lit, and the enemies are too slow moving.

I liked the cultists. The gremlins were nice but they should
have been melee attack only though. In the end
the nightmare levels lacked a polished feel, just like b2 did.

:bang:

Has anyone tried Joe V's E1M1 blood1 test map for b2 yet?
I'd love to hear some feedback on it.

http://home.comcast.net/~jvolante6/B2E1M1.zip
Just gave this a shot. I could only get it working in Bloodbath (is it supposed to be this way) and there were no textures just brightly coloured walls. Despite that, it was a brilliant recreation of the first level. Every secret is there etc. Now just to figure out whats wrong.
Im gonna paint the town red...

RiffRaff1138
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: May 11th, 2006, 06:03

Post by RiffRaff1138 » May 31st, 2006, 20:00

Choronzon wrote:Just gave this a shot. I could only get it working in Bloodbath (is it supposed to be this way) and there were no textures just brightly coloured walls.
Works fine for me. Did you tell the game to use TF.rez?
[i]Why can't people just be nice?[/i]

Choronzon
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 173
Joined: Apr 30th, 2006, 20:57
Location: Scotland

Post by Choronzon » Jun 1st, 2006, 13:23

RiffRaff1138 wrote:
Choronzon wrote:Just gave this a shot. I could only get it working in Bloodbath (is it supposed to be this way) and there were no textures just brightly coloured walls.
Works fine for me. Did you tell the game to use TF.rez?
Yeah
Im gonna paint the town red...

zZaRDoZz
The Great Betrayer
The Great Betrayer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mar 19th, 2006, 05:11

Post by zZaRDoZz » Jun 1st, 2006, 13:30

What version of blood are you using.? Joe might have that festival of blood .rez required or someting. and it's probably blloodbath only for now.

Choronzon
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 173
Joined: Apr 30th, 2006, 20:57
Location: Scotland

Post by Choronzon » Jun 1st, 2006, 13:33

Hmm, okay. I just tried it without the Nightmare Levels enabled and it works fine!
Im gonna paint the town red...

zZaRDoZz
The Great Betrayer
The Great Betrayer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mar 19th, 2006, 05:11

Post by zZaRDoZz » Jun 1st, 2006, 13:38

Anyone with mod powers out there might want to move the last 4 posts to the b1 map for b2 thread.

Choronzon
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 173
Joined: Apr 30th, 2006, 20:57
Location: Scotland

Post by Choronzon » Jun 1st, 2006, 13:42

Okay forget my last post. Although the textures now work Im being shot by an invisible opponent and falling through the map into oblivion at various random points.

EDIT: NEvermind now its working perfectly WITH the Nightmare levels enabled. And yes its very good and brings a tear to my eye.

EDIT: Okay again forget that. Im still falling through the floor at various places and doors etc seem to work at random.
Im gonna paint the town red...

zZaRDoZz
The Great Betrayer
The Great Betrayer
Posts: 444
Joined: Mar 19th, 2006, 05:11

Post by zZaRDoZz » Jun 2nd, 2006, 06:27

This is from Joe V on the Transfusion forums
Please remember that this was just a "concept" map and is not completly finished. There are some small details (missing decals, doors that dont work exactly right, missing secret area at end of map, being able to see through ceiling in secret area where binochluars are) that I never finished detailing.

Load the TF rez at startup and load the map as a multiplayer game. I used the cultist models from the Nightmare levels as an enemy so you should load Nightmares but I believe it will still work in regular B2 (you just wont see the cultists)

ALSO: I had NO PERMISSION to use anything in the map (textures...etc) from anyone from Monolith, The Transfusion Team or anyone else for that matter, this was a "proof of concept" for myself that B1 could be redone with Blood 2.

Enjoy!
If you've got the festival of blood Rez you might also enjoy some b1 sound fx and a shotgun that's closer to the original blood.

Choronzon
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 173
Joined: Apr 30th, 2006, 20:57
Location: Scotland

Post by Choronzon » Jun 2nd, 2006, 08:53

Okay well Im afraid it seems to work to varying degrees at random. There are places where you fall through the map. Doors sometimes work and sometimes dont. Textures are sometimes there and sometimes not.
Aside from all that, it is a great recreation of E1 M1 and Id love to see more.
Im gonna paint the town red...

User avatar
hakzear
New user
Posts: 11
Joined: Oct 17th, 2007, 18:25

Post by hakzear » Oct 18th, 2007, 21:41

Can somebody post a pic of the cultists ? That would be cool :D

User avatar
Overmind
Still Kicking
Posts: 61
Joined: Nov 28th, 2007, 21:00
Location: Classified
Contact:

Post by Overmind » Nov 29th, 2007, 07:48

I liked the expansion. It brought back some of the old Blood style (even insufficient).
[color=#CC0000]I'm here to donate some blood... someone else's ![/color]

User avatar
el borak
New user
Posts: 19
Joined: Aug 12th, 2008, 21:02
Location: FL

Post by el borak » Aug 20th, 2008, 10:05

just reinstalled b2.
could i get a pm?

User avatar
ilikemyhandsbloody
Lightly Broiled
Posts: 750
Joined: Nov 23rd, 2009, 13:53
Location: outside yer little forum

Re: The Nightmare Levels

Post by ilikemyhandsbloody » Dec 19th, 2009, 19:36

Nightmare Levels to me = not worth playing... a second time :thumbsdown:
(you will probably come to this conclusion too after playing it the first time)
http://www.youtube.com/bloodmapedit
__________________________________________________________
http://www.baitd.bloodgame.ru/bme.htm

User avatar
eqagunn
New user
Posts: 41
Joined: Jan 30th, 2010, 03:58
Location: Croatia

Re: The Nightmare Levels

Post by eqagunn » Jan 31st, 2010, 02:26

I just installed Blood II: The Chosen + The Nightmare Levels.

Now the launcher confuses me a bit...
We can tick that box if we want add-on or not.

Now, if I got it right, without box ticked we would run The Chosen and it's levels.
And with box ticked we would run The Chosen levels plus The Nightmare levels.

If that's so, then why do we have an option to run The Chosen levels only,
if when running the expansion we get all in one.

Why did they included the option to run the game without expansion.

Someone correct me if I got this wrong...

Post Reply