Sound not working...

Discussion about Blood II and its addons.
Post Reply
DryMango
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 15th, 2010, 11:31

Sound not working...

Post by DryMango » Jul 10th, 2010, 00:39

I now have the game up and running, thanks to a few changes.

But no matter what I do I cannot get sound from the game. To me it is vital for First Person Shooters. Sound is enabled on the game, and I checked Sounds in the Control Panel. But nothing comes out of my speakers. I have other computer games loaded on my computer and the sounds are there, but not on Blood 2.

Anything to help fix this?

User avatar
Reconite
Still Kicking
Posts: 103
Joined: Aug 3rd, 2009, 15:20

Re: Sound not working...

Post by Reconite » Jul 10th, 2010, 01:44

Are you using DOSBox?
http://www.youtube.com/user/Reconite11

User avatar
Daedolon
Supervillain outcast
Posts: 3338
Joined: Mar 28th, 2004, 14:06
Contact:

Re: Sound not working...

Post by Daedolon » Jul 10th, 2010, 03:32

We need a facepalm smiley.
Image

User avatar
Reconite
Still Kicking
Posts: 103
Joined: Aug 3rd, 2009, 15:20

Re: Sound not working...

Post by Reconite » Jul 10th, 2010, 13:17

Reconite wrote:Are you using DOSBox?
I just realized my mistake.

Blood II isn't a DOS game.
http://www.youtube.com/user/Reconite11

User avatar
Umnir
Half-homie
Posts: 4547
Joined: Jul 9th, 2007, 17:26
Contact:

Re: Sound not working...

Post by Umnir » Jul 10th, 2010, 15:11

lulled irl
LOL HI!

User avatar
Daedolon
Supervillain outcast
Posts: 3338
Joined: Mar 28th, 2004, 14:06
Contact:

Re: Sound not working...

Post by Daedolon » Jul 10th, 2010, 23:13

It could be one of several things. Make sure you don't have "Disable sound" chosen in the advanced settings, also which version of the game are you running? The GOG one has the fixed sound dll file.
Image

DryMango
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: Jun 15th, 2010, 11:31

Re: Sound not working...

Post by DryMango » Jul 13th, 2010, 01:10

Daedolon wrote:It could be one of several things. Make sure you don't have "Disable sound" chosen in the advanced settings, also which version of the game are you running? The GOG one has the fixed sound dll file.
Nothing in the Advanced Settings is checked. I am running version 2.1.233.

I believe it has to do with the SOUND.REZ file. I'll have to delete it and go to explore on my Blood 2 CD, copy and paste it. Hopefully it will work.

User avatar
Daedolon
Supervillain outcast
Posts: 3338
Joined: Mar 28th, 2004, 14:06
Contact:

Re: Sound not working...

Post by Daedolon » Jul 14th, 2010, 09:44

No I mean, do you have the original CD or do you use the GOG version for example.

The music will NOT work on modern operating systems without updating one of the DLL files, but I've never heard of the sound not working at all.
Image

Post Reply