How to: Adding new sound to Blood without replacing old

Discussion about editing and mapping for Blood.
Post Reply
NoOne
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 278
Joined: Jun 18th, 2008, 22:52
Contact:

How to: Adding new sound to Blood without replacing old

Post by NoOne » Oct 25th, 2010, 12:22

Recently cases of use of new sounds in own addons have become frequent, but not it is pleasant to all to replace native sounds of game favourite by all of us. Certainly it is possible to use another RFF as it was made by founders RATM or BPF, but it takes away a lot of place (especially in a case with BPF) and not always truly works, and as litters a folder with Blood. What to do if sounds it is not enough? Developers of game have provided system of addition of many files on ID, including sound. It becomes easily enough:

1. Create a TXT-file and name it "SND.RFS"
2. Open its notebook and enter lines and in the end don't forget to put a semicolon:

Code: Select all

resource "SND1.raw";
data "SND1.SFX" as 11020: 150, 0x22050, 0x0, 5,-1, "SND1";
;
resource - "a name your sound file.raw"
data - "a name your sound file.sfx" (can be any as it is created automatically)
as 11020: - number in fields "Data #" for MAPEDIT (can be any)
150, - volume of sounding (from 0 to 300)
0x22050, - sample rate (can be 11025 and 22050)
0x0, - unknown
5, - unknown
-1, - unknown
"SND1"; - a displayed name during playing of your sound in MAPEDIT (can be any)

It would be desirable to add that unknown parameters (0x0, 5 and -1) don't influence in any way for sound work, therefore don't worry about it. In the end of a script never forget to put a semicolon, differently it will be added nothing.

3. Save changes in the script.
4. Start BARF for file addition in game with such parameter:

Code: Select all

barf.exe sounds.rff @snd.rfs
NoOne

User avatar
Dimebog
Troll of the Opera
Posts: 2165
Joined: Aug 6th, 2006, 12:48
Contact:

Re: How to: Adding new sound to Blood without replacing old

Post by Dimebog » Oct 25th, 2010, 13:47

Great stuff. I didn't know you can do it like that.
Raven wrote:Nevermore.

User avatar
Le Babe
Well Done
Posts: 1745
Joined: Dec 3rd, 2008, 15:23
Location: FRANCE

Re: How to: Adding new sound to Blood without replacing old

Post by Le Babe » Oct 25th, 2010, 16:03

NoOne, did I already tell you that you are awesome ?

I think yes...but I have to say it again.


Image
"Pay attention everyone, NoOne is awesome !" - De Gaulle
"I'm here to donate some blood...someone else's..." - Caleb
Image

NoOne
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 278
Joined: Jun 18th, 2008, 22:52
Contact:

Re: How to: Adding new sound to Blood without replacing old

Post by NoOne » Oct 26th, 2010, 16:50

Haha, thanks:wink;

I used it for the first time in NAITD and it has worked. Actually this information can be learned, when you create with BARF a script of contained archive SOUNDS.RFF. It is assured that it is required to someone.
NoOne

Lawstiker
New user
Posts: 38
Joined: Oct 14th, 2010, 06:28

Re: How to: Adding new sound to Blood without replacing old

Post by Lawstiker » Oct 26th, 2010, 21:42

Awesome, thanks for sharing what you know on adding in new sounds, I was wondering how that was properly done. Both this and the QAVEDIT article were very interesting to read, any chance you might compose a SEQEDIT article/guide one of these days?

Keep up the good work! Your finding out quite a few interesting details about modifying Blood.

NoOne
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 278
Joined: Jun 18th, 2008, 22:52
Contact:

Re: How to: Adding new sound to Blood without replacing old

Post by NoOne » Oct 28th, 2010, 15:40

I think isn't present, though I have full table ID for SEQ files, I should work in this program.
NoOne

Tekedon
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 257
Joined: Nov 10th, 2008, 17:09

Re: How to: Adding new sound to Blood without replacing old

Post by Tekedon » Feb 3rd, 2011, 14:05

What is the exact sound format for Blood? I've tried adding a new sound, I got it in there. But the sound was completely distorted. I think I saved the file in Raw (8 bit mono unsigned, 11025 KHz) in Goldwave. I've tried 22050 KHz too, didn't make any difference. :(

User avatar
wangho
Well Done
Posts: 1217
Joined: Oct 31st, 2006, 04:30
Location: Over here, over there, yonder, aways, sometimes nowhere.

Re: How to: Adding new sound to Blood without replacing old

Post by wangho » Mar 12th, 2011, 01:55

Tekedon wrote:What is the exact sound format for Blood? I've tried adding a new sound, I got it in there. But the sound was completely distorted. I think I saved the file in Raw (8 bit mono unsigned, 11025 KHz) in Goldwave. I've tried 22050 KHz too, didn't make any difference. :(
It took FOREVER for me to get the Evil Dead soundfile working (the old man speaking about what he unleashed) from my Within The Woods map. I tried everything, and I believe what finally made it work was to shorten the name of the soundfile or either it was the number soundfile that I replaced in the .rff. It's hard to tell what exactly got it working correctly.

User avatar
Daedolon
Supervillain outcast
Posts: 3327
Joined: Mar 28th, 2004, 11:06
Contact:

Re: How to: Adding new sound to Blood without replacing old

Post by Daedolon » Mar 12th, 2011, 12:20

The file names have to obviously use the 8+3 system.
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests