Blood and Mapedit - Windows XP related problems

Discussion about editing and mapping for Blood.
LifeKILLED
New user
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 7th, 2006, 10:09

Post by LifeKILLED » May 12th, 2006, 20:39

Sect War add-on was made in water in XP

just write in MAPEDIT.BAT:

nolfb.com
mapedit.exe yourmap.map
Last edited by LifeKILLED on May 13th, 2006, 17:11, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mouth
Lightly Broiled
Posts: 870
Joined: Oct 15th, 2004, 12:09
Contact:

Post by mouth » May 13th, 2006, 09:02

scirmast wrote:Is there a way of getting mapedit to work on XP?
yes, by creating the same VDM shortcut you have for Blood.exe
Long live the new flesh!

LifeKILLED
New user
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 7th, 2006, 10:09

Post by LifeKILLED » May 13th, 2006, 17:10

MAPEDIT can work without VDMS. XP sound system very well is used. NOLFB and name of map is necessary

User avatar
mouth
Lightly Broiled
Posts: 870
Joined: Oct 15th, 2004, 12:09
Contact:

Post by mouth » May 14th, 2006, 00:46

and even if that worked, it's much faster just to copy the damn VDM shortcut and change the path. you be done in like 3 seconds, NOLFB and name of map takes like 15 seconds. Yeah, I win.
Long live the new flesh!

User avatar
Dopefish
Still Kicking
Posts: 60
Joined: Dec 17th, 2004, 21:03
Contact:

Post by Dopefish » May 21st, 2006, 21:21

mouth wrote:
scirmast wrote:Is there a way of getting mapedit to work on XP?
yes, by creating the same VDM shortcut you have for Blood.exe
I tried this.

It crashed out upon trying.
Punching contest GO!

Choronzon
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 173
Joined: Apr 30th, 2006, 17:57
Location: Scotland

Post by Choronzon » May 21st, 2006, 21:26

Dopefish wrote:
mouth wrote:
scirmast wrote:Is there a way of getting mapedit to work on XP?
yes, by creating the same VDM shortcut you have for Blood.exe
I tried this.

It crashed out upon trying.
The VDM shortcut works for me, but I actually use DOSbox to run it instead. It means that I can mapedit in a window and still chat with people on MSN, read the help files, browse the internet etc.
Im gonna paint the town red...

User avatar
Dopefish
Still Kicking
Posts: 60
Joined: Dec 17th, 2004, 21:03
Contact:

Post by Dopefish » May 21st, 2006, 21:36

I tried that too, though last time was with an older version.

It ran oh so slowly.
Punching contest GO!

User avatar
Shaggy
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 344
Joined: Dec 27th, 2004, 14:16
Location: Hohenkrug bei Augustwalde

Post by Shaggy » May 21st, 2006, 22:09

hm. does it load normally, then screen goes black and then exits to windows? it may happen because you don't have map called NEWBOARD.MAP in the same folder, where you keep mapedit. if you have, it's possible that starting place (a brown arrow) is put somewhere in void instead of in room. if you don't have NEWBOARD.MAP, just barf original maps out from blood.rff and rename one to NEWBOARD.MAP.

hope it helps - i had my mapedit crash problem solved this way.
signatures are irrelevant. they are for those naive simpletons, who think that they can sum their whole life philosophy in several worlds.
idiots.

User avatar
Dopefish
Still Kicking
Posts: 60
Joined: Dec 17th, 2004, 21:03
Contact:

Post by Dopefish » May 21st, 2006, 22:16

Shaggy wrote:hm. does it load normally, then screen goes black and then exits to windows? it may happen because you don't have map called NEWBOARD.MAP in the same folder, where you keep mapedit. if you have, it's possible that starting place (a brown arrow) is put somewhere in void instead of in room. if you don't have NEWBOARD.MAP, just barf original maps out from blood.rff and rename one to NEWBOARD.MAP.

hope it helps - i had my mapedit crash problem solved this way.
Just tried that. Same results as before.
Punching contest GO!

Choronzon
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 173
Joined: Apr 30th, 2006, 17:57
Location: Scotland

Post by Choronzon » May 21st, 2006, 22:22

Perhaps you could try turning off all the sound in Setup and seeing if you have any luck. This may sound stupid but it might be good for eliminating sound as the source of the problem. Also, with the sound off, you shouldnt need the VDM shortcut anyway and you could just edit in silence if it came to that. As long as you have printed out the lists of sounds you can use, I cant see it being a massive problem. Inconvienient, yes.
Im gonna paint the town red...

User avatar
Dopefish
Still Kicking
Posts: 60
Joined: Dec 17th, 2004, 21:03
Contact:

Post by Dopefish » May 21st, 2006, 22:28

Choronzon wrote:Perhaps you could try turning off all the sound in Setup and seeing if you have any luck. This may sound stupid but it might be good for eliminating sound as the source of the problem. Also, with the sound off, you shouldnt need the VDM shortcut anyway and you could just edit in silence if it came to that. As long as you have printed out the lists of sounds you can use, I cant see it being a massive problem. Inconvienient, yes.
Just go into Setup.EXE and remove all sound?

Man, this is gonna mess up my settings. D:

Ah well.
Punching contest GO!

User avatar
Shaggy
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 344
Joined: Dec 27th, 2004, 14:16
Location: Hohenkrug bei Augustwalde

Post by Shaggy » May 21st, 2006, 22:33

or, just to be simpliest, your mapedit.exe is corrupted :]
signatures are irrelevant. they are for those naive simpletons, who think that they can sum their whole life philosophy in several worlds.
idiots.

User avatar
Dopefish
Still Kicking
Posts: 60
Joined: Dec 17th, 2004, 21:03
Contact:

Post by Dopefish » May 21st, 2006, 23:18

Shaggy wrote:or, just to be simpliest, your mapedit.exe is corrupted :]
Ah.

I probably need a new one, then.
Punching contest GO!

Choronzon
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 173
Joined: Apr 30th, 2006, 17:57
Location: Scotland

Post by Choronzon » May 22nd, 2006, 00:56

Okay... now my mapedit is having exactly the same problem...
Im gonna paint the town red...

User avatar
Shaggy
Pink on the Inside
Posts: 344
Joined: Dec 27th, 2004, 14:16
Location: Hohenkrug bei Augustwalde

Post by Shaggy » May 22nd, 2006, 08:06

there's mapedit in files on deathmask.net - even with support for plasma pack :]
Last edited by Shaggy on May 22nd, 2006, 16:15, edited 1 time in total.
signatures are irrelevant. they are for those naive simpletons, who think that they can sum their whole life philosophy in several worlds.
idiots.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests